The Pentateuch

The Pentateuch is the name given to the first five books of the Old Testament. The word “Pentateuch” is composed of two Greek words: Penta (five) and teuchos (scrolls). The Pentateuch then, is another name for the five books of Moses found in the first section of the Old Testament.

The five books of Moses are Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. The name Pentateuch was first used by Tertullian, a leader of the Christian church and a prolific writer who lived in the second and third centuries of the Christian era. In one of his writings, Tertullian used the expression ha pentateuchos biblos, “the book of five scrolls,” and this name has been used widely to identify the writings of Moses.

The Pentateuch is also known as “The Book of the Law of Moses,” or “The Law of Moses.” The Pentateuch was divided into five books of equal length which could be fit on one scroll each. The Law of Moses served as the spiritual and legal basis for the religion of Israel.

The five books of Moses is also known as Torah, a Hebrew word which means “teaching.”

The five books of Moses are:

1. Genesis also known as בראשית (Bereshit) in Hebrew, which means “In [the] beginning.”

2. Exodus, in Hebrew שמות (Shemot) which means “The names of.”

3. Leviticus, in Hebrew ויקרא (Wayyikra) which means “And he [the Lord] called.”

4. Numbers, in Hebrew במדבר (Bemidabar) which means “In the wilderness.”

5. Deuteronomy, in Hebrew דברים (Debarim) which means “Words.”

The Pentateuch is known as the five books of Moses because it contains a collection of laws, historical facts, and traditions of the past that reflect the teachings of Moses. What God taught His people through the five books of Moses was God’s Word for Israel and it is God’s Word for the church of the twenty-first century.

Claude Mariottini
Emeritus Professor of Old Testament
Northern Baptist Seminary

NOTE: Did you like this post? Do you think other people would like to read this post? Be sure to share this post on Facebook and share a link on Twitter so that others may enjoy reading it too!

I would love to hear from you! Let me know what you thought of this post by leaving a comment below. Be sure to like my page on Facebook, follow me on Twitter, Facebook, and subscribe to my blog to receive each post by email.

This entry was posted in Hebrew Bible, Moses, Old Testament and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Pentateuch

  1. Pingback: The Pentateuch – Talmidimblogging

  2. robertgray41 says:

    The book of Deuteronomy certainly deserves much more attention than it has been getting. Though containing the words of Moses, I think that a pretty strong case can be made that it was compiled and edited during the time of the exile (see chapter 32, for example) by a writer who had become concerned about the forces of assimilation at work in Babylon, and who brings to bear on Moses’ words the fruits of long reflection and experience. It resonates with our modern concerns for this reason. I am haunted by the frequent occurrence in Deuteronomy of the words “Remember, do not forget…” Amen, amen.


    • Robert,

      I agree with your views about Deuteronomy. I accept the view that says that there was a double redaction of Deuteronomy. I expressed this view in my commentary on Deuteronomy (published in Spanish). This view says that the first edition of Deuteronomy occurred during the reforms of Josiah and the final edition during the exile.

      Claude Mariottini


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.